Dr. Matthew A. '82 and Patricia J. Harthcock PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT SYMPOSIUM

TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY

Chemistry

RESEARCH & DEVELOPMENT: FROM INDUSTRY TO ACADEMIA JUNE 16th, 2023

In 2018, Chemistry held the inaugural Matthew A. '82 and Patricia J. Harthcock Professional Development Symposium for graduate students in Chemistry. Each year the Harthcock symposium includes a meeting of an alumni advisory committee, professional development panel discussions (academic and industrial), a series of professional development talks (academic and industrial), and networking events for our graduate students.

This year the symposium will focus on Research & Development across industries and academia. Two keynote speakers will give their unique perspectives on R&D in consulting and patent law.

8:15 – 8:45	Breakfast
8:50 – 9:00	Opening remarks
	Dr. Tamara Powers, Associate Graduate Advisor
9:00 - 10:00	A Holistic Look at R&D
	Dr. Arturo Pizano, Engagement Manager at McKinsey & Company
10:00 - 10:50	Case Studies Part 1: Company Specific R&D
	Dr. Joe Wzorek, Principal Scientist II at Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research (NIBR)
	Dr. Tom Malinski, PAO Research Chemist at Chevron Phillips Chemical Company
10:50 - 11:00	Break
11:00 - 12:15	Case studies, part 2: Company Specific R&D
	Dr. Abhishek Parija, Process Integration Engineer at Intel
	Dr. Sarbajit Banerjee, Professor, Davidson Chair in Science at Texas A&M University
	Dr. Adriana Pavia, R&D S&E, Chemistry at Sandia National Laboratories
12:15 – 1:30	Mix and mingle network lunch
1:30 – 2:30	Role of Patent Law in R&D
	Dr. Laura Brozek, Associate and Registered Patent Attorney at Foley Hoag LLP
2:30 - 3:30	Career panel with all guest speakers
	(Moderator: Dr. Tamara Powers, Associate Graduate Advisor)
3:30 - 4:30	Reception

RSVP by May 1st using the QR code or link provided. <u>https://form.jotform.com/231025177308147</u>

NOTE: While the event is open to all Graduate Students & Postdocs, please be aware that space is limited! Registration is required and priority will be given to senior graduate students.



Made possible thanks to a generous endowment by Dr. Matthew A. and Patricia J. Harthcock