Curriculum Vita

Valery Pokrovsky

Education:

MS: Kharkov University, Ukraine, 1953. Sc. Advisors G.Ya. Lyubarsky, I.M. Lifshitz.

PhD: Tomsk State University, Russia, 1957. Advisor Prof. Yu.B. Rumer.

Doctor of Science: Siberian Branch of Ac. of Science USSR Novosibirsk, 1962 (higher degree, no analogues in US educational system).

Positions held:

- 1953-1956 Teacher at a technical school, Novosibirsk
- 1955-1957 PhD student at Institute of Radiophysics, Siberian branch of Academy of Sciences of USSR, Novosibirsk
- 1957-1960 Research scientist at the same Institute
- 1960-1966 Head of theoretical division at the same Institute, then at the Institute of Semiconductors, Novosibirsk.
- 1966-now Head of a division, then leading scientist at Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics of the Academy of Sciences of USSR, Chernogolovka, Moscow District
- 1966-1992 Professor of Theoretical Physics at Moscow Institute for Physics and Technology
- 1992-now Professor (starting from 1998 Distinguished Professor), Department of Physics, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX 77843-4242

Invited professor positions

- 1977 Visiting scientist at Nordita, Copenhagen, Denmark.
- 1979 Guest Professor at Wroclaw Polytechnica, Poland
- 1982 Visiting scientist at Institute of Physics, Hungarian Ac. of Sc., Budapest
- 1983 Guest Professor at Troisieme Cycle, Lausanne Polytechnicque and University of Neuchatel, Switzerland.
- 1990 Visiting scientist at Centre of Nuclear Study Julich, Germany.
- 1991 Visiting scientist at Brookhaven National Laboratory.
- 1994-5 Guest Professor at ETH, Zürich, Switzerland.
- 2000 Guest Professor at University of Cologne, Germany.
- 2010 Guest Professor at Joint Theoretical Institute of University of Chicago and ANL.
- 2001-2019 Visiting Scientist at University of Cologne (2 summer months)

Main scientific achievements:

- 1. New method in quantum mechanics allowing calculations beyond all orders of the perturbations theory, in particular the overbarrier reflection and scattering amplitudes (1957-1962). This work served as a starting point of a new branch of Mathematical Physics "Asymptotics beyond all orders". It is included in Quantum Mechanics by Landau and Lifshitz. M. Kruskal, H. Segur, B. Shraiman and others used it for study of dendrite growth and other nonlinear problems. M.V. Berry started his study of asymptotic series with development of an early work of this series.
- 2. Universal scaling hypothesis in general theory of phase transitions (1964-1966). This work was mentioned in the Communication of the Nobel Committee on the Nobel Prize 1982 and the Nobel presentation by K. Wilson. Alexander Polyakov considered the work of 1964 as a starting point of his activity in the field theory (see his book "Gauge fields and strings").
- 3. Statistical theory of a new topological phase transitions in 2 dimensions (1979-84) that received in literature the name "Pokrovsky-Talapov transition". It has numerous applications in condensed matter physics, quantum chemistry and even in quantum field theory. Theory agreed with experiments on magnets, superconductors, crystal faces and intercalated atoms.
- 4. Theory of stripe structures in ferromagnetic films (1993-96). The theory was verified by several experimental groups in Switzerland, France and USA.

- 5. Landau-Zener transition in the noisy medium and in cooled gases (2003-2007). This theory is important for future quantum computers and for molecular magnets.
- 6. Theory of Ferromagnetic-Superconductor hybrids (1998-2005). These hybrids were realized in several experimental groups, in particular at our Department.
- 7. Bose-Einstein condensation in the random environment (2007-2010). The theory explained experiments with the cooled gas subject to the action of an artificial random field.
- 8. Bose-Einstein condensation and superfluidity of magnons (2012-2019).

Awards: Landau Prize of Academy of Sciences of USSR together with A.Z. Patashinskii for pioneering works on theory of phase transitions, 1984; Humboldt Prize 2000 for senior American scientists; Prize for scientific achievement by Alumni Club of Texas AM University, 2001; Onsager prize of American Physical Society for fundamental contribution to statistical physics, 2005; Landau Gold Medal of Russian Academy of Sciences for fundamental contributions in Statistical Physics and Quantum Mechanics 2018. Distinguished Professor at Texas A&M University, 1998; Fellow of American Physical Society, .

Synergetic activity:

Member of Scientific Council of Landau Institute.

Conferences co-organizer: International Congress of Statistical Physics Statphys 22-27, years 2004-2018, in Bangalore, Padova, Cairn, Australia, Seoul, Lyon, Buenos Aires. Annual Conference on mesoscopic phenomena in superconductors and ferromagnets, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL, 2003-2006; Landau Memorial Conference, Moscow-Chernogolovka, Russian Federation, June 2008; Conference on Quantum Liquids, Gravitation and Field Theory, Landau Institute, Chernogolovka, Russia, 2019.

Co-Editor: Journal of Modern Physics B and Modern Physics Letters B; Journal of Magnetism and Magnetic Materials.

Invited participant and speaker (after 2010): International Workshop "Disordered Quantum Systems", Institute H. Poincare, Paris, June-July 2012; Annual Conferences "Landau Days" in Chernogolovka, Russian Federation, 2005-18; International Conference "Frontier in Nanoscience", ICTP, Trieste, Italy, 2015; International Conference "Magnonics", Physikzentrum Bad Honnef, Germany, 2016; International workshop "Disorder, Interaction and Coherence; Warps and Delights, Max Planck Institute of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany, 2016.

Thesis advisor: More than 45 PhD students. Among former PhD students there are full members of Russian Academy of Sciences Alexander Dykhne (deceased) and Alexander Chaplik, 8 professors at USA Universities and National Labs, about 30 professors at Russian Universities and Academic Institutions, 2 professors in China Universities; Dr. Dr. A.I. Kitaev, Caltech Professor of Theoretical Physics and Computer Science, winner of the Mac Arthur prize 2008, Milner award for fundamental studies 2015 and Buckley Prize 2017, 3 winners of the Director Postdoctoral Fellowships at Los Alamos National Laboratory (Ar. Abanov, N. Sintsyn, F. Li). Dr. Chen Sun has won prestigious Kosterlitz Fellowship at Brown University, Student Gang Li was awarded by the Arnowitt prize of the TAMU Center of Theoretical Physics.

Recent publications:

- O.A. Tretyakov, K.S. Tikhonov, V.L. Pokrovsky, *Spin resonance in a Luttinger liquid with spin-orbit interaction*, Phys. Rev. B **88**, 125143 (2013)
- F. Li, W.M. Saslow and V.L. Pokrovsky, *Phase Diagram for Magnon Condensate in Yttrium Iron Garnet Film*, Scientific Reports **3**, 1372 (2013)
- C. Sun and V.L. Pokrovsky, *Spin Correlations in Quantum Wires*, Phys. Rev. B **91**, 161305(R) (2015)
- C. Sun, T. Nattermann, and V.L. Pokrovsky, *Unconventional Superfluidity in Yttrium Iron Garnet Film*, Phys. Rev. Lett. **116**, 257205 (2016).
- I. Borisenko, V. Demidov, B. Divinskii, G. Li, T. Nattermann, V. Pokrovsky and S. Demokritov, *Direct evidence of spatial stability of Bose-Einstein condensate of magnons*, arXiv: 1910.06013 [cond-mat.mes-hall], October 2019.