Skip To Main Content
College of Arts & Sciences

women at a table 

The Department of Anthropology at Texas A&M University is committed to a establishing a community that embraces and supports individuals from all racial, ethnic, religious, gender, sexual orientation, class, disability, and nationality groups in their chosen pursuits.

In 2012, the Diversity Committee prepared the following resources for the Department of Anthropology:

Women Faculty in the Department of Anthropology. Like academics in many fields, women anthropologists face different career issues and challenges than do their male colleagues. The most important resource available to women in Anthropology at TAMU is the strength, creativity and passion of the women who make up a large proportion of the Department. Students and staff should not hesitate to bring questions or concerns about women’s issues to the attention of our faculty.

In addition, the following campus organizations support diversity-related issues:

  • Women in Science and Engineering – An organization in the Colleges of Science and Engineering. WISE organizes a conference on women’s issues in science and higher education each February.
  • Texas A&M University Faculty and Staff Networks that promote inclusive excellence, include
    • Women’s Faculty Network
    • Black Faculty Alliance
    • Christian Faculty Network
    • Friends of India Network
    • Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Professional Network
    • International Faculty and Scholars Network
    • Jewish Faculty Network
    • Mexican American/Latino Faculty Association
    • Muslim Faculty Network

The following is a list of relevant organizations within the discipline of anthropology:

  • CoGEA (The Committee on Gender Equality in Anthropology) – The Committee on Gender Equity in Anthropology (CoGEA) monitors the status of gender equity in the discipline and the American Anthropological Association, advising the Executive Board and educating members. The Committee reports to the Executive Board. Members are elected from and by the AAA membership at large