• Texas State Climatologist; Director, Southern Regional Climate Center
  • Regents Professor
  • Phone: (979) 862-2248
  • Email: n-g@tamu.edu
  • Office: Eller O&M 1205C
John Nielsen-Gammon


Professional Links

Additional Information

John Nielsen-Gammon has been on the faculty at Texas A&M University since 1991. He is currently a Regents Professor of Atmospheric Sciences and also serves as the Texas State Climatologist and Director of the Southern Regional Climate Center. He graduated from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology with a Ph.D. in 1990. He does research on various types of extreme weather from droughts to floods, as well as air pollution and computer modeling. As Texas State Climatologist, he helps the State of Texas make the best possible use of weather and climate information, through applied research, outreach, and service on state-level committees. He is a fellow of the American Meteorological* Society. 

*pronunciation: “meteor - a - logical”  

Educational Background

  • Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1990
  • S.M., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1987
  • S.B., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1984

Research Interests

Awards & Honors

  • Outstanding Reviewer, Journal of Hydrologic Engineering, American Society of Civil Engineers, 2016
  • Editor’s Award, Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, American Meteorological Society, 2015
  • 2013 Editors’ Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for Journal of Geophysical Research-Atmospheres, American Geophysical Union, 2014
  • Sigma Xi – Texas A&M Chapter Outstanding Science Communicator, 2013
  • Texas A&M SEC Distinguished Achievement Award, 2013
  • Dean’s Achievement Award, Service, Texas A&M College of Geosciences, 2012
  • 2011 Weather Hero, The John C. Freeman Weather Museum, 2012
  • Regents Professor, The Texas A&M University System, 2011
  • Newsmaker Image Award, Texas A&M University, 2011
  • The Woody Guthrie Award Presented to a Thinking Blogger, 2011
  • Fellow, American Meteorological Society, 2011
  • Certificate of Recognition, National Aeronautics and Space Administration, 2007 (with M.J. Mahoney, Chris Smith, and Wayne Angevine)
  • Editor's Award, Monthly Weather Review, American Meteorological Society, 1997
  • Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award in Teaching, Texas A&M University Association of Former Students, 1996
  • Presidential Faculty Fellow, National Science Foundation/White House, 1995
  • Distinguished Teaching Award, College of Geosciences and Maritime Studies, Association of Former Students, 1995
  • National Collegiate Weather Forecasting Contest, First Place, 1991
  • National Collegiate Weather Forecasting Contest, First Place, 1990
  • National Collegiate Weather Forecasting Contest, First Place, 1989