Skip To Main Content
College of Arts & Sciences

Our department is renowned for the breadth and quality of its research. Our faculty include two Nobel Prize winners, three National Academy of Science members and twelve University Distinguished Professors. There are presently nine endowed chairs in the department. Numerous faculty awards include Guggenheim, Humboldt, Sloan Fellowships, and a variety of teaching and research awards. The George P. and Cynthia Wood Mitchell Institute for Fundamental Physics and Astronomy is housed in a facility adjacent to the new Mitchell Physics Building, and its endowment supports fundamental research in high energy physics, cosmology and astronomy. The Institute for Quantum Science and Engineering (IQSE) addresses problems in quantum science from the most fundamental level to applications in optics, nano materials and bio sciences. The adjacent Cyclotron Institute houses much of the nuclear science activities on campus and has undergone a recent accelerator upgrade and building expansion.