Skip To Main Content Skip To Profile Details
Group photo of the 2023-24 class of Hagler Institute for Advanced Study Fellows at the annual gala, held March 1, 2024
The Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A&M University inducted 14 Hagler Fellows and two Distinguished Lecturers during its annual gala on Friday. The group is the largest class in the institute’s 13-year history. | Image: Hagler Institute for Advanced Study

The Hagler Institute for Advanced Study at Texas A&M University has inducted its 14-member class of 2023-24 Hagler Fellows — the largest class in its 13-year history — including four who are affiliated with the College of Arts and Sciences.

During a March 1 ceremony in the Memorial Student Center's Bethancourt Ballroom, Texas A&M President Gen. (Ret.) Mark A. Welsh III and Hagler Institute Founding Director Dr. John L. Junkins welcomed the institute’s latest class of scientists, engineers and scholars, all of whom are recognized internationally for their research and achievements, along with two distinguished lecturers: Dr. Julio M. Ottino, R.R. McCormick Institute Professor and Walter P. Murphy Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Northwestern University, and Dr. Mark Zoback, Benjamin M. Page Professor of Geophysics and director of the Stanford Natural Gas Initiative at Stanford University.

The 2023-24 class, announced September 26, includes two Nobel laureates and the first female astronaut of color to travel into space. Members of the new class are collaborating with faculty, researchers and students in the Colleges of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Arts and Sciences, and Engineering; Schools of Education and Human Development, Engineering Medicine, Medicine, Public Health, and Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences; and at Texas A&M University at Galveston.

“Each of our Hagler Fellows and lecturers belongs to the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine or holds recognitions of equal stature in their field,” Junkins said. “All have achieved excellence in their careers, and the impact they will have on our campus is beyond measure.”

Since 2012, the Hagler Institute has attracted 126 world-class researchers to the Texas A&M campus: 116 Hagler Fellows and 10 Distinguished Lecturers. Of these, 16 have joined Texas A&M’s permanent faculty.

Previous classes of Hagler Fellows have included four Nobel laureates, a Wolf Prize recipient, a Hubble Medal in Literature for Lifetime Achievement recipient, a National Medal of Science recipient, a National Medal of Technology and Innovation awardee, a two-time recipient of the State Prize of Russia and a recipient of both the National Humanities Medal and the Johan Skytte Prize, the most prestigious award in political science.

The College of Arts and Sciences is hosting or affiliated with four of the 14 internationally renowned scholars, including:

  • Dr. Alicia Carriquiry, Distinguished Professor and holder of the President's Chair in Statistics, Iowa State University: Carriquiry focuses her work on applications of statistics in human nutrition, bioinformatics, forensic sciences and traffic safety. She is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
  • Dr. Eric S. Maskin, Adams University Professor, Harvard University: Maskin is known for his contributions to game theory, contract theory, social-choice theory and political economy. He is a recipient of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics, a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.
  • Sir Konstantin Novoselov, Tan Chin Tuan Centennial Professor, National University of SingaporeNovoselov is an expert in condensed matter physics. In 2004, he and physicist Andre Geim shared the Nobel Prize for Physics for mapping the properties of graphene. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the Royal Society in the United Kingdom.
  • Dr. Soroosh Sorooshian, Distinguished Professor, University of California, Irvine: Sorooshian has advanced water resource systems through the development of remote sensing and precipitation runoff modeling. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the International Academy of Astronautics.

In a separate ceremony, Junkins presented the institute’s inaugural Take Flight Leadership Award to Norm R. Augustine, former chairman and CEO for Lockheed Martin as well as the first chair of the Hagler Institute External Advisory Board.

“For the first 12 years of the institute’s existence, Norm has contributed significantly to our success and culture,” Junkins said.

To learn more about the Hagler Institute, visit

About The Hagler Institute For Advanced Study

The Hagler Institute for Advanced Study was established in December 2010 by The Texas A&M University System Board of Regents to build on the growing academic reputation of Texas A&M and to provide a framework to attract top scholars from throughout the nation and abroad for appointments of up to a year. The selection of Hagler Fellows initiates with faculty nominations of National Academies and Nobel Prize-caliber scholars who align with existing strengths and ambitions of the university.