Skip To Main Content

See the Texas A&M University College of Arts and Sciences stories from May 2022.

The student-curated exhibit, "HERE: Faces and Voice of Native Aggies," will be on display in the MSC’s Forsyth Galleries through July 29.

Forced to abandon her dissertation field research in Indonesia, doctoral student Angela Achorn shows extraordinary flexibility and creativity in crafting an entirely new project.

Texas A&M astronomy Ph.D. candidate Addy Evans '21 is one of 80 recipients nationwide of a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research Program Award -- the third Texas A&M student and first in astronomy to earn selection thus far in the program's eight-year history.

Congratulations to Texas A&M mathematician Jennifer Whitfield, one of five faculty members who have been appointed to 2022 University Professorships in Undergraduate Teaching Excellence (UPUTE) at Texas A&M University.

Texas A&M chemist Wenshe Ray Liu has been appointed as the inaugural holder of the Harry E. Bovay, Jr. Endowed Chair in Chemistry, recently created by combining gifts from two Texas-based philanthropic organizations and 2022 Texas A&M Distinguished Alumnus Thomas W. Powell '62 to establish a $1 million endowment dedicated to advancing chemistry research at Texas A&M.

Congratulations to Texas A&M University's latest National Academy of Sciences member, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry Donald Darensbourg -- the third Texas A&M chemist to earn the prestigious accolade since 2017.

Texas A&M senior biology major and University Scholar Annabel Perry '22 has made the absolute most of her innate curiosity, research opportunities and faculty mentorship during her four-year undergraduate career in Aggieland that culminates Saturday in a bachelor's degree with honors en route to the Ph.D. program in human evolutionary biology at Harvard this fall.

Congratulations to Thomas W. Powell '62, one of 12 Aggies honored this year with the university's highest former student honor, the Distinguished Alumnus Award. Powell, an entrepreneur in electrical energy systems who served as the longtime chief executive officer and chairman of Houston-based Powell Industries Inc., received his bachelor's degree in mathematics in 1962 from Texas A&M.

1990 Texas A&M chemistry Ph.D. graduate Carl McAfee is leading an innovative effort through his Kennedale-based company, McAfee Consulting LLC, to turn recycled rubber and scrap plastics into various composite materials poised to make a major impact across economic, environmental and national security sectors.

Communication professor helps explore how Teddy Roosevelt’s rhetoric holds up in a Memorial Day documentary on The History Channel.

Madelaine Setiawan is an international student from Indonesia with a passion for American Civil War history and an eagerness to join the Aggie family.

Samantha “Sami” Schramm ‘22 graduated with a degree in international studies and a passion for the Aggie spirit.

Public Policy Research Institute researchers worked with professionals across Texas during the pandemic to improve state-wide nutrition and socialization programs for seniors.

Brady Stone ‘22 will pursue his passion for audience journalism after graduating.

Jason Lindo provides a look at the potential outcomes of striking down Roe v. Wade.

One Aggie student uses his liberal arts degree to his advantage as a journalist.

The Federal Reserve increased interest rates this past March. A professor from the Department of Economics explains what this means for the Brazos Valley.

The College of Liberal Arts is known for having highly-regarded faculty members and students. Here, we compiled just a few of the recent recognitions from the 2022 spring semester.

Kyle Cox ‘18 will serve on the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities.

The team of Texas A&M students was assigned an evaluation area in the eastern deep-water Gulf of Mexico.

New research co-authored by Texas A&M’s Dr. Ryan Ewing shows how dunes on Jupiter’s volcanically active moon, lo, were formed.

With the prestigious award, Belanger will provide first-generation students the opportunity to participate in research aimed at building global benthic foraminiferal database.

The Texas A&M Oceanography professor was awarded the 2022 Provost Academic Track Faculty Teaching Excellence Award by the Center for Teaching Excellence.